Teacher Advisory Committee

The Teacher Advisory Committee (TAC) works collaboratively within and across grade-levels and across school districts to meet the expectations within the Gates grant. The TAC reviews current grant initiatives and desired outcomes and provides recommendations to the Operations and Steering Committees regarding implementation strategies. 


Pajaro Valley Unified School District

Anney Fagan

District Office, Math Coach Secondary


Areceli Mendez

District Office, Math Coach Secondary


Ryan Jones

Watsonville High, Social Studies, AVID


Cynthia Fernandez

Ohlone Elementary


Karen Richmond

Valencia Elementary


Carroll Mayer

Rio Del Mar Elementary


Diana Gantz


Soquel Union Elementary School District

Elizabeth Charlson

New Brighton Middle School Math Teacher


Amy Lukie




santa Cruz City schools

Kristan Clark

Harbor High School


Steve McDowell

Soquel High School, High School Math Coach


Amy Spiers

Branciforte Middle School


Beth Shaffer

Mission Hill Middle School


Robert Ellington

Elementary Math Coach



San LOrenzo Valley School District

Laurie Shipley

San Lorenzo Valley High Math Teacher


Karen Snedeker

San Lorenzo Valley Middle School 


Louanne Myers

Elementary, 1st Grade


Gillian Blair

San Lorenzo Charter 


Santa Cruz County office of education

Mary Anne James

Associate Superitendent, Educational Services


Connie Benton

Executive Director, S4C



scotts valley unified school district

Vita Chiasamonte

Scotts Valley High School


Letricia Morquardt

Scotts Valley Middle School


Kari Thornley

Brook Knoll Elementary School




Melissa Nix

Shoreline Middle Math Coach


small schools (Bonny Doon, Happy Valley, Mountain, Pacific Elementary)

Kate Royer

Happy Valley Teacher


Alternative Education Program

Denise Henry

Alt Ed Teacher, Santa Cruz County Office of Education


Charter Schools

Kim Carpenter

Delta High School Math Teacher